List: Books of The Winter Break

Happy New Year everyone. Hope you had wonderful holidays. I had.

I also managed to read quite a lot so here I’d like to share my 5 discoveries of the winter break in no particular order.

 

1. Neil Gaiman – ‘Neverwhere’. This one went to my ‘all-time-favourite’ list. The style, the story, the characters were everything I was looking for many years of reading. There are two londons – London Above and London Below. London Above is the one we know – with City workers, with busy streets, tourists and art galleries. London Below is where all the magic happens – the myths are true and the truth is a myth. That world is so full of odd and marvellous things that it makes you wish for a sequel and a sequel and a sequel. Recommended.

never

 

 

2. Paul Hoffman – ‘The Left Hand of God‘. Well… what can I say. The idea might have been a good one. The complete lack of skill in writing (didn’t want to say ‘talent’) makes everything rather worse. There are also many things thrown in that shouldn’t have made it to the book. So here’s a boy Cale. He is really strong and really clever and he lives in The Sanctuary of Redeemers. He is believed to be a left hand of God. He doesn’t care about it. He escapes. Then there are some other fights, battles and some love. The sad thing was that in the end I’ve realised that the story had a sequel and that I’ll have to read another book to find out what happens. Yay.

left

 

 

3. Paul Hoffman – ‘The Last Four Things’. Yes, I’ve read the second book. There were more battles. And then there was this unnecessary world building included into the text wherever author felt like it. So here’s a boy Cale. He is really strong and really clever and he lives in The Sanctuary of Redeemers. He is believed to be a left hand of God. He doesn’t care about it. He escapes. Then there are some other fights, battles and some love. This is not a mistake. The story is the same. The sad part? This is a trilogy and I’ll need to read a third book to finally see what happens.

four things

 

 

4. Philip Pullman – ‘Northern Lights’. This is the first book of the trilogy called His Dark Materials. I already knew how many fans of these books are out there. That built some pressure for me to enjoy this book. I’ve also seen a terrible movie adaptation that made it more difficult for me to read. For those reasons or for other, the first half of the book dragged a little. However, the unique universe that the author has created was mesmerising. There is a girl in Oxford called Lyra and one day she sees what she’s not supposed to see. And then the whole story of a journey towards North begins. Recommended.

12699042

 

 

5. Philip Pullman – ‘The Subtle Knife’. This is a second book of His Dark Materials trilogy. Surprisingly, the book was even better than the first one. The girl, Lyra, follows her dad and finds herself in a completely different world. She befriends a boy called Will and together they try to figure out all the mysteries of that world. Highly recommended.

sdfgyh

 

 

I just started the 3rd book of His Dark Materials. Sadly, I don’t have much time to read now as the semester has started. However, I’m sure I’ll enjoy it as much as I’ve enjoyed other books.

Have a great week and don’t forget to read!

Leave a Reply

